Turn a Photo into a Holiday Stocking

StockingDog

I love my dog Alba completely and with an almost inordinate amount of enthusiasm. So it follows that I want to put her face on just about everything! A few years ago I took this photo of her and created gift wrap on Spoonflower with it. This year I decided she needed her own holiday stocking and used Sprout Patterns to create it.

Upload

I added a bit of Ooomph to the photo in Photoshop, then uploaded to Spoonflower.

Mirror

Then I switched the repeat style to mirror to make my design.

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 12.02.35 PM.png

After choosing the Holiday Stocking pattern from the Sprout site, I searched in my designs to locate Albatross Redux. Then I chose another of my designs for the cuff and strap.

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 12.03.54 PM.png

The 2D and 3D version looked perfect, so I picked Linen-Cotton as my fabric and sent the order through.

Closeup1

The stocking printed perfectly and looked exactly like the photo. From cutting down to a finished stocking took about 20 minutes. BOOM!

StockingDog

Which design will you create / pick for your holiday stocking? Let us know below!

Leave a Reply

