Holiday Stocking with Unexpected Illustrations

Several years ago I wrote a blog post on Spoonflower about how I took the patent illustrations and turned them into a design that I used on gift wrap.

 

6a00e5523f5f4d88340192aa8f5e3d970d-800wi
Papers.jpg

 

My grandfather, Edward Okun, had several patents for improvements on the design of the folding umbrella in the 1930s as well as some others for a garment hanger and a corkscrew.

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 10.59.01 AM

Now that I work at Sprout Patterns, I decided to take that same design and turn it into a holiday stocking!

stocking

To create the stocking, I just went to Sprout Patterns and chose the Holiday Stocking in Faux Suede. I didn’t have a design for the cuff that I liked, so I created one on the fly in Spoonflower.

Closeup

Katie sewed this up with a special sequin embellishment that nicely offsets the mechanical style of the drawings! What I love about this gift for my dad is that he will save it and use it for years to come.

Does your family have cherished drawings or other memorabilia you could use to put on a stocking? Tell us about it!

Leave a Reply

