Sprout Review: the Portside Dopp Kit

Today’s guest Blogger, Nicole Kligerman, is part of the Sprout Patterns team.

IMG_1973

I have always found that New Year’s resolutions are so difficult to maintain. I get busy, I put things off, I make excuses. I mean, that’s why we call them resolutions, right? This year, I am determined to keep mine! Well…at least some of them ;). One of my main resolutions for 2016 is to make things that I will actually use.

Dopp2

Enter Grainline Studio’s Portside Travel Kit, now available on Sprout. This classic, utilitarian pattern consists of three bags: the duffel, the dopp kit, and the pouch. Once I saw the offerings from Grainline, I started creating a billion dopp kit projects on Sprout. With such a clean, classic pattern, there is so much room to have fun with prints! A girl never has too many bags, and it just so happened that I was about to go to Puerto Rico and could use a small bag to bring to the beach. Plus, the original PDF pattern comes with every Sprout project so it will be so easy to make some for my jealous friends in the future!

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 8.55.54 AM

There are so many designs in the Spoonflower marketplace to choose from when making a Sprout project that it can be overwhelming—the options are endless! I finally ended up with an indigo and embroidery inspired dopp kit using designs from Marketa_stengl and Nicoleevelyn (yes, that’s me!). Lately I have been obsessed with lunar inspired designs and sashiko work, so this combination is just perfect. I chose the fabric I wanted to get, Linen-Cotton Canvas, and sent my order in!!

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 5.03.18 PM.png

Getting my Sprout project was the best. The fabric looked just like the 2D preview on the website and I cut out the pieces and pinned the labels on everything while watching Netflix on my couch. No printing, no tracing, just so easy. I applied my interfacing, which I did have to trace, but it was still so fast!

IMG_1896

I chose to add some bling to my dopp kit with a metal zipper and got a funky floral striped print in Cotton Lawn from Pseudolus for a pop of color in the lining.

My sewing experience using Sprout was easy and fun. The instructions provided by Jen of Grainline were concise and I loved that I could search online for “Grainline Portside” and read sewing reviews from other bloggers!

IMG_3589

After sewing, I have to say: I love my dopp kit. It’s the perfect size! I carried my it all over Puerto Rico. I used it to hold my valuables and electronics while wandering Old San Juan.

IMG_1969

My phone, headphones, and keys fit in the front pocket and I could easily fit my book, sunglasses, camera, and a few snacks in the large compartment. It was easy to find in my carry on bag and perfect to take to the beach with me; that zipper protected everything from the sand that got everywhere.

24103065810_60036ee289_k

Since I’ve returned to the mainland, my dopp kit has become a way to carry all of my cold remedies with me (thank you winter) and has spent some time holding small knitting projects as well. Cute + practical, a perfect project to begin my year of making!

The hard part now will be choosing what to make next…

Until next time!
Nicole


Nicole2

Nicole heads up Product Development at Sprout Patterns. She has a background in fashion development and design and a passion for businesses that do good, which has taken her to places like Uganda, Pakistan, and now Durham, NC. In her spare time, you can either find Nicole in her home studio creating with her kitten by her side or exploring new places around town and abroad. She loves live music, Asian cuisine, and laughing.

Leave a Reply

