Five Reasons I Love my Sloan Leggings (and Yoga)

Being part of the Spoonflower print team is the best. But, working nights isn’t always easy – it’s difficult to develop a routine when your schedule is the opposite of the majority of the adult world. Meals are hard. When do you do laundry? And, when do you find the time to exercise when you’re totally not a morning person?

I found a way to get some exercise and a way to avoid doing laundry a little bit longer. The magical solution? Practice yoga, and do it in a new pair of Sloan Leggings from Sprout Patterns.

5 Awesome Things Yoga and my Sloan Leggings Have in Common:

  1. The most important thing: Comfort.

1.-Pose.jpg

Does doing yoga mean an excuse to wear leggings and comfy shirts? Yes, please! The Sloan Leggings (also available in a customizable paneled version) are ridiculously comfortable. My pair is made with Cotton Spandex Jersey, a lightweight knit that stretches with me.

  1. I can do yoga/wear my leggings anywhere!

2.-Canal.jpg

At my house? On a beach? In the print room? Do yoga. At my house? On the beach? In the print room? Wear leggings. Done. The Sloan Leggings even have a pocket so I can take my music with me, too!

3.-Pocket.jpg

Bonus: I can also cut out Sprout’s pattern pieces anywhere, since there’s no need to lay the pieces flat. My favorite place is on my couch.

  1. I can do yoga/make leggings anytime!

4.-Legs-on-Wall.jpg

6am? My dinner break? A rainy afternoon? The hottest day on record since 1910? Sounds like the perfect time to roll out my yoga mat and my cutting mat! My preference for both activities is usually midnight, which is why I picked Midnight in a Perfect World (black) by Mirjamauno (who just happens to work in Spoonflower’s Berlin office!!!)  for my main design. It’s paired with Black and White Geometric by Crystal Walen for some fun contrast.

5.-Pritned.jpg

  1. Both yoga and leggings make my life easier.

6.-Warehouse.jpg

Yoga helps you to be strong and flexible. These things are essential for surviving the print room, especially when you’re a tiny person moving cores that are bigger than you are and working with machines that are a constant physical challenge.

7.-Close-Up.jpg

You know what else is great for moving freely and staying comfy during any kind of day? Leggings. And, they’re cute! Dress them up or down for a fun pop of color.

  1. There’s something for everyone (furry friends included).

8.-Yoga-w-Roxsea.jpg

Yoga is awesome for everyone, because you can create a flow that fits your lifestyle. Same with the Sloan Leggings – order a pair like mine (Creatures of the Night) or design your own!

9.-Headband.jpg

I was even able to make a matching headband from the extra printed fabric to keep my crazy hair at bay in the July beach air. Check out this list of four easy tutorials to make your own, too!

If you make your own pair, hopefully I’ll be the lucky print operator that gets to print them out. And, I’m probably going to be wearing my own leggings while I do it.

Happy stretching!
Gina


gina1.jpgGina is a printer operator at Spoonflower (or as she likes to call her position, “Slayer of Ink Beasts”) and a summer intern with Sprout. When she’s not having audible conversations with machinery, she can be found sharing facts about pigeons or Wonder Woman or old buildings with anyone who will listen. Her hobbies include fabric hoarding, wrestling her sewing projects away from her polydactyl cat Oz, and aimlessly wandering with coffee in one hand and her polaroid in the other.

One thought on “Five Reasons I Love my Sloan Leggings (and Yoga)

  1. Hi Gina!
    You inspired me with these leggings and I successfully made my own pair. Do you mind if I ask though, what size do you make? I got a small tall and definitely think I could have done regular, I wanted these to be longer in length than 3/4 but it was too long. Also, the waist fits great but they aren’t as tight as yours are around the knees and calfs and ankles. I’m thinking if I make a new pair at Regular length rather than long that will help. Did you take yours in at all in the leg area? Thanks so much for your input.

    Like

Leave a Reply

