Something Handmade: Personalized Bridesmaids gifts with Sprout Patterns

DIY weddings are the cutest, and so is Jennifer Spanos – Spoonflower Operations team member and bride-to-be! Jennifer is a novice sewist, but decided to take on the Sprout Patterns Lined Zipper Pouch as the perfect handmade gift for her bridesmaids.


I work at Spoonflower and am constantly surrounded by fabric – so I knew I should finally learn how to sew. Spoonflower offers employees basic sewing classes and I jumped at the opportunity! I recently sewed up my first napkins and have plans to hem some tablecloths and signage for my wedding soon.

Jenn-&-Chris.jpg
One of our engagement photos

I’m getting married next month in Asheville North Carolina. Although my fiance and I are both from Ohio (Go Cavs!) we wanted to bring our families down to explore the mountains (and amazing food) of North Carolina. Christopher and I met at summer camp so we thought an outdoor wedding would be perfect.

Uncut.jpg
Some of my pouches, washed and dried – so happy with how bright the colors stayed!

I’ve never sewn a zipper before, but my coworkers convinced me I could do it. I decided to make each of my bridesmaids a Zipper Pouch from Sprout Patterns to include in their gifts for the wedding day.

Cutting.jpg

I had so much fun looking through our marketplace to choose designs for my zipper pouches! I tend to “heart” everything I like and my favorites list gets longer everyday! I spent some time going over my favorites as well as searched some words that reminded me of my bridesmaids. All of the pouches have the same design on the outside (Ferns by Landpenguin) but the inside is personalized. I don’t know if my twin sister’s lining, Buried Bones by Alyssa Scott, or my cousin’s lining, Love all dogs by wideeyedtree, is my favorite lining! So cute!

Sewing.jpg

My favorite part about Sprouting would have to be cutting out the pattern! It was immediate gratification to look down and have all of my pieces straight and ready to sew! The instructions were very clear and the pictures were super helpful!

Finished-Pouch.jpg

Gifts.jpgSome of the other gifts for my bridesmaids – the zipper pouch fits in perfectly!

I am so happy to have finally used Sprout with a sewing project. I am really excited to give something to my girls that is personal and handmade! I hope to increase my sewing skills a bit because a dress project is calling my name.


Jennifer.jpg

Jennifer is on the Operations Team at Spoonflower and the co-chair of their Sustainability Committee. Her hobbies include snuggling with her three year old Plott hound Wenonah, watching scary movies and wedding planning (is that a hobby?). She would rather go out for breakfast than dinner and loves learning to cook any Greek recipe!

2 thoughts on “Something Handmade: Personalized Bridesmaids gifts with Sprout Patterns

  1. Pingback: Matching for Grownups, featuring Sprout Patterns | Sprout Patterns Blog

Leave a Reply

